Is it Ever OK to be Selfish?

In the old days, when money was in good supply, I spent freely. No, I wasn’t a shopaholic; the actual act of shopping never excited me. But, I was making money, working hard, and figured I deserved whatever I wanted. (That was mistake # 1, but that’s an issue for another post.) I had nice stuff, took vacations, and went to yoga retreats. Actually, my yoga teacher-training was expensive, but something I absolutely don’t regret spending the money on. I want to continue with my yoga studies, and this will bring me to the subject of this post, in a moment.

Times have changed. I rarely buy more than food, gasoline, and pay bills. Our last splurge was ski passes for the family. That may sound excessive, if you don’t live here. But, here in the mountains, it’s a way of life. We ski every weekend. It’s what makes living in the land of eight-month winters bearable. I have been putting aside money to attend an Anusara Yoga event in September, in Colorado. In the past couple of years, there have been a number of yoga events, workshops and trainings that I have wanted to attend. In the old days, I would have gone to all of them, using my credit card, if I were low on cash. Months ago, I decided to choose one, and save up for it. I’ve got more than half saved, and having the rest by September should be no problem. But, there is a problem. I just realized that registration opens April 28. It sells out fast. So, now, if I want to go, I’ll have to pay in full in the month that I make the least money.

Do you see my dilemma? Maybe it’s not a dilemma at all. How can I justify spending money on myself when we are so short on cash? But, I thought I was being so responsible in saving up for this. It’s an event that only comes around every other year, at the most. It will be a big step towards my goal of becoming an Anusara-Inspired yoga instructor. Am I rationalizing?

I would love to hear your opinions. That’s why I started this blog, after all, so I wouldn’t be going through my financial journey alone.  Thanks, as always, for reading.

4 comments so far

  1. mimi on

    Paying in full in the month when you make the least money does not sound like the best idea, even if it is something you really want. It’s not so much the “being selfish”, it’s more the wisdom of spending all that money on something that is more of a want than a need. I say take a small splurge with the money you have already saved up, use the rest for bills, and put off the yoga retreat until next time; even if it is a few years. By that time it will be more easily afforded and you won’t have to beat yourself up for being selfish.

  2. Nancy McDowell on

    Can you pay for the retreat in full by the 28th while maybe very tight but still putting food on the table and gas in the car? OR, have you inquired how strict the deadline and deposit schedule is? In these times everyone seems to be hurting to some degree and maybe they would be willing to take some or most April 28th and the rest the following month just to get you signed up? Like your Home Depot bill sometimes if you ask the right person at the right time you can work something out and everybody wins?

  3. Whitney Wogan on

    I like Nancy’s idea. It never hurts to ask and you’re developing two critical skills for becoming money smart: the art of negotiation and the knack for asking yourself “How Can I …?” This simple question engages your creative faculties to find out-of-the-box solutions.


Leave a Reply

