Are You Waiting for a Prince?

I just finished a great book about money, written specifically for women. I have two criteria for calling a non-fiction book great. It has to have great information, and it has to be an enjoyable read. Barbara Stanny’s Prince Charming Isn’t Coming: How Women Get Smart About Money, delivers on both counts.

She starts out talking about the fact that most women just don’t think about or deal with their money. Many were raised to believe that a man would do it, others are waiting for a better job, or think that they can’t start managing their money until they have more. I definitely come from the third camp. My father was never a great money manager (sorry, Dad, I know you’re reading this), so I never felt it was a man’s job. But I had this completely illogical logic, in which I kept telling myself that I’d get my finances in order, once my finances were in order! I always planned on starting to manage my money, once I had enough. Barbara tells us to stop waiting. Get on top of your finances now, or you will never have enough. She emphasizes that we should not wait for a crisis, to start looking at our money. If you’re a reader of this blog, you know I’m in financial crisis, but I’m dedicated to getting out of it. If you’re not in crisis, but you don’t pay much attention to your money, read this book! Don’t Wait.

Stanny shares her own financial journey, and discusses the different mental blocks that women have towards money. She tells us how to get started in the financial learning process, and how learning follows a very specific curve. She discusses investing in-depth, and gives specific, understandable instructions for those who literally have no idea where to start. I am not ready to start investing, but as soon as I am able to pay my bills and have a little extra, you can bet, I’ll be referring back to this book.

Really, though, the best thing about this book, is how enjoyable it is to read. I’ve got three or four good non-fiction books going right now, that I keep putting down and coming back to. They’ve all got great information, but the writing is a bit dry. I read Stanny’s book in three days. I looked forward to getting back to it. That’s the sign of a good book. Because, no matter how good the content, a book is only useful if you read it.

1 comment so far

  1. Iris on

    Very interesting review. I think I’ll check out this book!


Leave a Reply

