Biting Off More Than I Can Chew?

If I were to ask my husband if I am biting off more than I can chew, his answer would be, “Of course you are; that’s what you do.” I am wondering if I’m doing that now. I started this financial journey, all fired up to do all sorts of things. Besides my two jobs, selling wine and teaching yoga, I was planning on starting a copy-writing service, trying to get published by magazines, starting this blog, writing more in my other blog, forecasting weekly, reading Money magazine, writing my novel more regularly…phew! I’m tired just from writing all that. I think I have overwhelmed myself. Maybe that’s why I haven’t felt like doing any of those things for the past few weeks.

Perhaps it’s time to prioritize. Of course, my two main jobs are priority. I am making a firm plan to increase my wine sales, setting weekly and monthly goals for myself. I am hoping to add a few more yoga classes to my weekly teaching. I definitely need to stick with the financial forecasting and education. Maybe I should look at my writing career (or lack thereof) and ask myself what is most important. Getting my blogs out there? Writing my novel? Copy-writing business? Maybe one, or two, of those endeavors need to go on the back-burner.

We are all works in progress. We learn as we go. We learn that we cannot do it all, and that’s OK. Years ago, I decided that I’d rather be a mother, than a Master of Wine. While I still passionately learn new things about wine every day, my time is much more happily spent raising my daughter, than studying to be one of the 100 most wine-knowledgeable people in the world.

When have you had to prioritize, and how has it worked out?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

