Julie Powell

A big inspiration for this blog, was the movie Julie & Julia. You might wonder what dealing with the recession has to do with Mastering the Art of French Cooking. I watched the movie with a mix of inspiration and envy. I had been writing my food & wine blog, VineJoy, for a couple of years. (For those of you who read it, thank you, thank you, thank you! And yes, VineJoy is still alive, though on life-support. Since I started R2R2P, I have been neglecting my first blog, but I will get back to it…promise~!) Besides loving the movie, my first reaction was, why hasn’t anyone discovered me and asked me to write a book?? Well, there are a few reasons for that, one of which is the fact that food and wine blogs are a dime a dozen these days. It seems like anyone who has ever eaten anything, is blogging about it. Not so, in 2002, when Julie Powell started blogging and cooking her way through Julia Child’s tome. It got me thinking that I needed a blog subject that was fresh. It needed to have an edge, and a naked honesty that Julie’s blog had. It had to be something that people could relate to. It had to be something that I was going through at the time, a chronicle, that people would come back to, and want to read about what happened next. And, like Julie’s blog, I wanted it to inspire people. (I don’t know about you, but I pulled out Julia’s book and made coq au vin, the day after seeing the movie!) Thus, the birth of this blog began to form in my head.

I am currently reading Julie Powell’s new book, Cleaving. I am again, struck and humbled by her ability to put it all out there. Here, I am, embarrassed as hell to write that I don’t have the money to pay my mortgage this month. Especially after spending a chunk on a yoga retreat last month. And to tell you how much my marriage has struggled because of our financial situation would be mortifying. And yet, Julie Powell can unflinchingly (well, I don’t know, maybe she flinched), write about her extra-marital affair, for her husband, her parents (!) and all the world to read. I am impressed, and again, inspired.  And though butchering isn’t my gig, I can totally relate to her throwing herself completely into something that seems solid and safe when the rest of her life was falling apart (for me, it’s Anusara yoga). The book has gotten some pretty bad reviews, and since I am yet to finish it, I can’t give my complete opinion. But, whether you like the story or not, I think you have to be impressed by her fearlessness.

Although the economy is recovering, this is still a scary, unpleasant time in my life. Writing this blog, and attempting to be transparent and fearless, is helping me to deal. It’s helping me to face my money and be honest about it, whether the news is good or bad. When I am honest, I am unable to keep my head buried in the sand. Thanks, Julie, for keeping me honest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

